Battle of the StartUpWeekends…

So Birmingham, Alabama and Atlanta duked it out in the battle of StartUpWeekends… well not really. First, Birimingham isn’t affiliated with StartUpWeekend and in reality both sets of participants were focused on building a startup and taking a whole lot away from their experiences.

I’ve not had the time to follow both groups closely – I’ve had a poke at both applications and my first impressions are that Birimingham’s site is a bit rough around the edges. I’m a little unclear on the financial side of things, but clearly there is an audience that perhaps isn’t being catered too.

I don’t think I fully grasp Skribit – mainly because in my humble opinion the problem doesn’t exist. It does look very polished though.

Reading the Birmingham blog and the code for equity debate, I have a greater appreciation of where Andrew Hyde is coming from, weekends do need standards and for me Code for No equity isn’t where I’d like it to be. But, it’s Birmingham’s weekend so it is their choice and everybody seems to have got a lot out of it.

As founding principles I believe most of the Founders Bill of Rights are great. As I previously blogged, I don’t like the fact that StartUpWeekend is a company and while it’s clear and transparent, I don’t like the fact Andrew takes 5% of the company founded over the weekend.

I found it interesting that both Mike Arrington of TechCrunch and David Cohen of TechStars have focused on the community of StartUpWeekend. But I’m confused? This is a company, but it is a community? I’ve already shared my thoughts on this, but ultimately they don’t really matter… Most of the participants at these weekends seem to come away with a lot from the experience, it’s clearer to me that many see that as being the real value of the weekend.

1 comment so far

  1. […] 12th, 2007 And so the debate continues… two recent articles following this past weekend talk about Andrew Hyde’s […]


Leave a Reply

