BuyItOrDie? Yeah, right…

I’ve noticed that one of my posts has been stolen (search for my site on Technorati) by a website called BuyItOrDie… I’m not going to link to them because I don’t want to help their google rankings. Regardless, they’ve stolen some of  my content and a quick look round the blogosphere confirmed that I’m not the only one who’s having their content stolen.

This doesn’t appear to be an isolated incident and I suspect it will provide a challenge for the quality of results provided by search engines indexing blogs.

3 comments so far

  1. letters on

    Dude,
    Thanks for linking to me and if there’s any way I can help you out shutting this thief down, let me know. I don’t know a lot about blogging, having been at it only for the past six months, but having had stuff copied and ads thrown around it has sure woken me up. I think the only danger now is that I let my writing go to pieces and concentrate on fighting them! I’d much rather be doing what I’ve been doing already – having fun just writing.

  2. Erkan Yilmaz on

    Sorry to hear this.
    Here is one of many cases where a similar thing happened and there are mentioned possible actions against this, e.g. plagiarism-detection services.

    I guess the only way to stop this really, is not to blog and this is everybodys own decision.

    How about implementing some “bugs” into your texts ? If people copy the text without thinking, this would later be funny to also point this out. But then again, bad publicity is also publicity 😦
    Another viewpoint: helps also to check, if your readers really read the text 🙂 or how many of the bugs (logical problems,…) they are able to find.

  3. […] Erlang (for German readers: it is not related to the German town Erlangen :-)), stapler testing and stolen blog posts. And I am sure Pradeep Soundararajan you know already from my other […]


Leave a Reply

